Back to list view

Fwf aufsichtsrat 2019 2023
F.l.t.r.: Iris Fortmann (FWF Works Council), Martin Grötschel (Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities), Gabriele Ambros (Verlag Holzhausen GmbH), Barbara Sporn (Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration), Eva Liebmann-Pesendorfer (Institute for Advanced Studies), Martin Netzer (Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research), Sonja Puntscher Riekmann (Salzburg Centre of European Union Studies), Martin Gerzabek (Christian Doppler Research Society), Hans Sünkel (Austrian Academy of Sciences)

The FWF Supervisory Board’s 6th term of office runs until 2023. It is composed of ten personalities from research and society.

The newly elected ten-member FWF Supervisory Board had its constituent meeting on 9 December 2019. Four members were delegated by the Assembly of Delegates, three by the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research and one by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology. These eight members elected a ninth member. The tenth member is appointed by the FWF Works Council. At their first meeting, the ten Supervisory Board members elected Sonja Puntscher Riekmann as Chair and Eva Liebmann-Pesendorfer as Vice Chair.

“I would like to thank my distinguished colleagues on the Supervisory Board for the trust they have placed in me,” said Sonja Puntscher Riekmann in an initial reaction after being elected chairperson and noted: “The Austrian Research and Technology Funding Act defines the Supervisory Board as the central supervisory body of the FWF, endowed with extensive competences. We therefore consider our task both a privilege and an obligation, which we will carry out with the greatest diligence and to the best of our knowledge and belief. I am looking forward to constructive cooperation within the Supervisory Board and with the FWF Executive Board for the benefit of research in Austria.”

The Supervisory Board is entrusted with numerous powers of monitoring and approval. It adopts resolutions on the FWF’s annual accounts as well as its annual budget forecasts and its multi-annual and annual work programmes. Every four years, it elects the President together with the scientific Vice-Presidents on the basis of a shortlist of three candidates submitted by the Assembly of Delegates. Upon consultation with the President, it appoints the Executive Vice-President.

The new FWF Supervisory Board 2019-2023

The members of the FWF Supervisory Board are

Sonja PUNTSCHER RIEKMANN, Salzburg Centre of European Union Studies

Vice Chair:
Eva LIEBMANN-PESENDORFER, Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS)

Members (in alphabetical order):

  • Gabriele AMBROS, President of Forschung Austria, Verlag Holzhausen GmbH
  • Iris FORTMANN, FWF Works Council
  • Martin GRÖTSCHEL, Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (Germany)
  • Renate E. MEYER, Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration
  • Martin NETZER, Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF)
  • Johanna RACHINGER, Austrian National Library
  • Barbara SPORN, Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration
  • Hans SÜNKEL, Austrian Academy of Sciences

FWF Supervisory Board, 6th term of office (2019-2023)

Back to list view