Open Access Books funded by the FWF are highly used

This year the FWF E-Book Library and the OAPEN Library will grow to a level of around 300 books.

Open Access means the free (re-) use of research results

The FWF Open Access Policy will continue to require the use of Creative Commons licenses

Reinhold Mitterlehner and Pascale Ehrenfreund present Josef Penninger as Wittgenstein Award winner 2014

Eight outstanding young researchers accepted into the prestigious START Programme – New action plan unveiled for Austrian research.

Retiring President of the FWF Christoph Kratky analyses the state of Open Access in NATURE

Open Access to academic publications is on the tear, but the transition period seems to be long and expensive.

2013 Wittgenstein Award goes to physicist Ulrike Diebold

Nine outstanding early-stage researchers accepted into FWF's prestigious START programme

Pascale Ehrenfreund to become FWF President

The FWF's Assembly of Delegates has elected Pascale Ehrenfreund as the organisation's next president. In addition, the three vice-presidents on the FWF's Executive board have been elected. The new board will take over for the team led by Christoph Kratky in September 2013.

Science Europe Position Statement on the Budget for Horizon 2020

As European leaders meet to decide on the budget of the EU for the next seven years, the 50 major Research Performing and Research Funding Organisations that constitute Science Europe would like to stress the importance of adequate funding for research and innovation at the European level.

Statement of Principles for Scientific Review

From May 14th to Mai 15th, 2012 the "Global Merit Review Summit" took place at the headquarters of the US National Science Foundation (NSF) in Virginia for the very first time. About 50 heads from Research Funding Organizations of the G-20 and the OECD-countries were invited. Christoph Kratky, President of the FWF, was one of them. As one result from this high-ranking meeting a position paper was issued, which states the principles for scientific review.