HERA - Humanities in the European Research Area


HERA is a European research network (ERA-NET) for the humanities which currently involves 24 European funding agencies. Its objective is to support researchers in forming networks and developing cooperative, transnational research projects in the humanities, in order to strengthen their position at national and European level. At the same time, HERA aims to counteract the fragmentation of research in the humanities and to stimulate new research initiatives in their constituent disciplines. The FWF is a full partner in the HERA programme.

Proposals submitted to HERA must involve researchers from at least four participating countries. Projects must have a maximum duration of three years. Transnational basic research projects in the HERA programme also include networking and knowledge transfer activities.

Participating countries/organisations

Austria: Austrian Science Fund (FWF)
Belgium: Fonds National de la Recherche Scientifique  (FNRS)
Croatia: Hrvatska Akademija Znanosti i Umjetnosti (HAZU)
Czech Republic: Akademie ved Ceske Republiky  (CAS)
Denmark: Styrelsen for Forskning og Innovation (DASTI)
Estonia: Sihtasutus Eesti Teadusagentuur (ETAG)
Finland: Suomen Akatemia (AKA)
France: Agence Nationale de la Rcherche (ANR)
Germany: Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt EV (DLR-PT)
Iceland: The Icelandic Centre for Research (RANNIS)
Ireland: An Tudaras um Ard Oideachas (HEA)
Italy: Consiglio Nazionale delle Recerche (CNR)
Latvia: Valsts Izglitibas Attistibas Agentura  (VIAA)
Lithuania: Lietuvos mokslo taryba (LMT)
Luxembourg: Fonds National de la Recherche (FNR)
Netherlands: Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO)
Norway: Norges Forskningsrad (RCN)
Poland: Narodowe Centrum Nauki (NCN)
Slovakia: Slovenska Akademia Vied (SAS)
Slovenia: Ministrstvo za izobrazevanje, znanost in sport (MIZS)
Spain: Ministerio de Economia, Industria y Competitividad  (MINECO)
Sweden: Vetenskapsradet – Swedish Research Council (VR)
Switzerland: Schweizerischer Nationalfonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (SNF)
UK: The Arts and Humanities Research Council  (AHRC)

Status of the FWF