ERA-NET Co-fund

E-RARE-3: ERA-Net for research programs on rare diseases

Duration: 2014-2019


Rare diseases are diseases that affect not more than 5 per 10 000 persons (according to the EU definition). 7000 distinct rare diseases exist, affecting between 6% and 8% of the population (about 30 million EU citizens). The E-RARE consortium was built to link responsible funding bodies that combine the scarce resources and fund rare disease research via Joint Transnational Calls (JTCs). The current E-RARE-3 project will extend and strengthen the transnational cooperation by building on the experience and results of the previous E-RARE-1&2 programs. The consortium comprises 26 institutions from 17 European, Associated and non-European countries.

Participating countries/organisations

Austria: Austrian Science Fund (FWF); Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG)
Belgium: Fund for Scientific Research (F.R.S.-FNRS);  Research Foundation Flanders (FWO)
Germany: Project Management Agency in the German Aerospace Centre (PT-DLR), Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), German Research Foundation (DFG)
France: National Institute for Health and medical Research (INSERM); French National Research Agency (ANR)
Greece: General Secretariat for Research and Technology (GSRT), Hellenic Centre for Disease Control & Prevention (KEELPNO)
Italy: Istituto Superiore di Sanità (ISS); Italian Ministry of Health (MoH); Emilia Romagna Region
Israel: Chief Scientist Office of Ministry of Health (CSO-MOH)
Canada: Canadian Inst. of Health Research Inst. of Genetics (CIHR-IG); Quebec Health Research Fund (FRQS), Genome Canada (GC)
Latvia: Latvian Academy of Sciences (LAS)
Nederland: Netherlands Organization for Health Research and Development (ZonMw)
Poland: National Centre for Research and Development (NCBIR)
Portugal: Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT), Direccao-Geral da Saude (DGS)
Romania: Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation Funding (UEFISCDI)
Switzerland: Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)
Spain: National Institute of Health Carlos III (ISCIII)
Turkey: Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TÜBITAK)
Hungary: University of Pecs (UNI PECS)

Status of the FWF